Finishing up the year

Drafted 7 Dec 2015

 

We are not unschoolers. And I do follow the NSW syllabus despite feeling some resistance to being told by faceless civil servants what my children ‘should’ be studying. But I have been neglecting the PDHPE and HSIE parts of the syllabus and so in Term 4 I ended up with several areas I wanted to cover before the year was up. We abandoned our normal timetable (which is fairly loose anyway) and I gave each boy a list of the work that had to be covered before they could have their ‘holidays’. Dh and I have been doing crash courses on the areas on the list. The kids are sometimes resistant, sometimes receptive. They found it quite fun to find out about area, volume and capacity using building blocks and kitchen objects. They were more resistant to discussing relationships and how to resolve conflict (which is definitely one area I should have spent more time on during the year.)

We are all tired and Drama King more than most due to rehearsing with Opera Australia for the Summer 2016 season. He has had many wonderful opportunities through his talent agency but yet I am considering giving it a miss next year to give him (and my husband and I) a break.

Our next AP visit is in June 2016 and I know I will have good documentation of our work for the previous 2 years. I think after the visit I will allow the children (and me) to ease up a little and spend more time on their own genuine interests and less on the syllabus.

About scimumsam

An ex scientist living in Australia, currently tutoring maths and science and homeschooling my own children. I blog about science and maths education on NurtureLearning.com, and homeschooling (infrequently) on lookingslantwise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

