Kitchen science

Today was a good day.

I teach a primary science class on Friday mornings, involving two of my children plus other homeschooling children. The theme for this term is ‘The Material World’ and we made bread rolls, fairy cakes, crystals and lots of washing up.

Pokemon Boy does not join in with these classes. I still haven’t quite sorted out how to ‘do’ his science. Next year, when he is High School age, I might try to teach him in a group of other children of similar age.

Anyway, today he was keen to work with me as we were looking at properties of materials by making chocolate biscuits. We made a simple shortbread recipe and then melted chocolate to decorate them with. This started out being a drizzle but soon we decided we wanted more chocolate than that.

photo 3 (4)

photo 4 (2)

Pokemon Boy doesn’t have much more science to get through this term and we have jointly decided that when he finishes, we will go to Max Brenner’s to celebrate with chocolate fondue.

And now I am staying up too late writing for my blogs, and I doubt I will go to parkrun tomorrow morning…

About scimumsam

An ex scientist living in Australia, currently tutoring maths and science and homeschooling my own children. I blog about science and maths education on NurtureLearning.com, and homeschooling (infrequently) on lookingslantwise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

